Aapo Heinonen Quintet

Stacks Image 753

A very fine debut of jazz pianist Aapo Heinonen and his Quintet. Nine brand new songs written by Aapo himself takes this group straight into the top of Finnish jazz-scene. Instrumental jazz with acoustic piano and some tasteful rhodes make a combination sometimes spiritually harmonic and soon behind the corner a handful of sparkling and youthful riffs and grooves makes you want to hear more. Although there are many twisting sections in many songs, at least one part of the tunes are composed mainly on the lookout for improvisation.
Influences can be heard from the 80's fusion jazz, modal mainstream and free jazz as well.

Aapo Heinonen Quintet is:
  • Aapo Heinonen: Piano, Keyboards
  • Ville Vannemaa: Saxophones
  • Veikki Virkajärvi: Guitar
  • Pasi Toivanen: Bass
  • Tomi Saikkonen: Drums

This really is music offering rewarding experiences not only for jazzfans but also to mainstream listeners.


Stacks Image 757
Aapo Heinonen Quartet: A Daydream Between Nightmares (2010)
Get your copy from Running Moose Label Shop, iTunes or from their web-site