Johanna Iivanainen

Stacks Image 753
Loisto - The Collection is the first collection album by singer-songwriter Johanna Iivanainen. It sums up her incredibly versatile and active career within the past ten years as a recording artist.

Loisto, however, is not a traditional hit collection, even though it includes many popular songs - Loisto is more of a selection of songs which have a great importance to the artist herself, and from which one can hear Johanna Iivanainen's presence and contribution beyond singing.

Johanna herself describes the record with following liner notes: This album is a collection of songs that have and haven't been recorded in past 10 years. I've worked in many bands as a visiting singer, but this record brings forth mostly songs that I've done as a composer or a songwriter. 

The opening track Loisto is Johanna's own song, a beautiful, almost forgotten piece of music which was originally released in the album Free Control II (2001). Three of the songs Forces Of Nature, I Bear My Burden and I'm Waiting were previously released on Johanna's first solo album Johanna Iivanainen (2004). There are also two songs from Korpi Ensemble named Witness and Echoes, and quite amazing, bossanova spirited version of The Scorpions megahit Still Loving You. Taulu and Hiljainen Poika are songs Johanna has recorded with 1N band.

Johanna tells, how the songs on Loisto  The Collection were chosen: We took in some specialities, such as the hidden track Lennosta Kii! from Eero Koivistoinen Band's newest record and Jimi Hendri''s Hear My Train a-Comin' from year 1997, which was originally recorded only for demo purposes. That's when we started working together with my husband Mikko Iivanainen, and in this record you can also hear our new songs we just recorded in Spring 2008 at Perfect Sound Studios as a duo, Old Country and Count The Waves. Last but not least I have to mention Kultaralli, a great composition by Kalle Kalima. Beautiful lyrics were written by his wife Essi Kalima. Kultaralli was originally recorded by Soi Ensemble. 

Loisto - The Collection is released in co-operation with Backstage Alliance and Presence Records. The album will also be released in Germany, Austria and Switzerland by the German Nordic Notes record company.


Stacks Image 757
Johanna Iivanainen: Loisto - The Collection (2008)

Get your copy from Running Moose Label Shop or iTunes